Latest News from The Guild: Summer 2022

Dear Guild Members

We are so grateful to have been able to present the 34th Annual Music Theatre Guild of Victoria’s Bruce Awards livestreamed to our theatre community from Beaumaris Theatre. Whether you were able to join us via a watch party event, from the comfortable of your own homes or re-played on our YouTube channel after the event we are so glad to have been able to celebrate together again.

We thank elder Aunty Dy from the Bunurong Land Council for attending the theatre and presenting the Welcome to Country.

Live from Beaumaris we welcomed our MC President Ang Cuy, and our judges administrator, Mitchell Brusamarello and our Open and Junior Judges for 2020-2021 to present the Awards.

How lucky we were to have been able to pre-record performances from several shows who successfully made it to the stage in 2020-2021, as well as having the Guild Ensemble open the show but provide vocals for our special segments. We were honoured to be able to remember those who has passed away as well as celebrate those appointed Life Members in our community in 2020-2021. We were able to have an insight into the hard work of our Junior Members throughout the difficulty of producing a show during the pandemic and appreciate those behind the scenes making sure the show goes on.

Thank you to our wonderful production team and various volunteers who made this night possible

2020 / 2021 Awards Production Team
Director – Samantha (Bam) Heskett
Musical Director – Daniel (Dan) Heskett
Production Manager – Brett Wingfield
Technical/Streaming Coordinator – Damien Calvert.
Floor Manager – Jayson Fry
Floor Managers Assistant: Tejana Symons-Heskett

Special Award

The Music Theatre Guild of Victoria was so pleased to be able to present a special award to Fran Boyd at the 2020-2021 Awards night for Notable Service to Non-Professional Musical Theatre.

This award has only been presented four other times in the Guild’s history, to Bruce McBrien, Graham Cope, Val Pageam and Beverley Meldrum.

Life Members

Congratulations to Elly Foster & Keith Stubley on being awarded Life Membership to The Music Theatre Guild of Victoria at our 34th Annual Bruce Awards 2021