2019 AGM and Committee Update

Dear MTGV Members,

As I’m sure you are aware, the MTGV held its AGM this past Saturday, March 16th in the beautiful council chambers at the Williamstown Town Hall.
It was certainly one of the most well-attended AGMs of recent years, and it was fantastic to see so many members present – a sure sign of the enthusiasm of our theatre community for being engaged and represented.

I was incredibly humbled to be elected as the next President of the MTGV, and am looking forward to working with the committee elect over the coming year; I believe the mix of experienced players and fresh faces are an indication of great things ahead.

2019 Committee

President: Ang Cuy
Vice President: Brett Wingfield
Secretary: Mark Spencer
Treasurer: Carole Cuthbertson

General Committee:
Fran Boyd, Damien Calvert, Anne Dewar, Elly Foster, Derek Ingles, Karl McNamara, Leah Osburn & Dot Parker

Pictured: The newly elected 2019 MTGV Committee of Management.
L-R: Brett Wingfield, Fran Boyd, Mark Spencer, Leah Osburn, Ang Cuy, Derek Ingles, Carole Cuthbertson, Elly Foster, Dot Parker, Anne Dewar, Damien Calvert.
(Not pictured: Karl McNamara)

I’d like to take this opportunity to say a special thank you to Beverley Meldrum, our outgoing President. Beverley has put in countless hours over her last eight years as President, as well as her time as Vice President and committee member prior to that, not to mention her work as a judge on both the Junior and Senior panels. Her commitment to the Guild and the theatre community has always been unwavering, and although I know she is currently enjoying a well-earned rest, as one of our life-members I have no doubt she’ll be back in a theatre foyer before we know it!

The 2019 committee will be meeting in the first week of April to set our agenda for the rest of the year, after which we’ll be sending out the minutes of the AGM, including the results of the 2018 Member Survey as presented at that meeting.

In the meantime, I’m looking forward to having some great conversations with you all about how the Guild can continue to support and strengthen collaboration amongst our community.


Ang Cuy
President – Music Theatre Guild of Victoria